4.8

Google Reviews

Need Help? Contact An Australian Business Lawyer Today 1300 003 077
Search
Close this search box.

Employment Contract Review

An employment contract review requires a comprehensive legal review of the employment relationship, Modern Awards and Enterprise Agreements and the terms of the written contract.

At Prosper Law, we understand the importance of employment contracts for employers and employees. That’s why we offer a comprehensive contract review service to ensure that your employment contract is legally sound and beneficial to you.

Our team of experienced employment lawyers negotiate employment contracts across various industries. We understand the complexities of employment law.

Whether you are an employer or an employee, our employment review services will ensure that your contract meets your expectations and protects your rights.

Contact us for a free consultation

Our Employment Agreement Review Services

contract

Review of employment contract for employees

If you are an employee and have been provided with a contract, it is important that you engage an experienced employment lawyer.
Our team can review your employment contract, confirm if a Modern Award or Enterprise Agreement applies to you and whether your employment agreement complies with the Fair Work Act 2009.
Salary and wages are a major source of income for many Australians. A contract review is an investment as it can ensure that you are aware of your rights and obligations for your biggest source of income.

taraju

Drafting employment contracts

If you are an Australian employer and you need a new employment contract template or just a refresh of your existing employment agreements, we provide a fixed-fee service.

It is important to ensure that all legal requirements are captured when drafting employment agreements. An employment contract lawyer can make sure that an existing employment contract or new agreement is compliant. Employers may wish to understand whether amendments can be made to reflect their business practices.

peopless

Employment contract legal advice

An employment contract lawyer is needed to provide expert employment law advice. Questions will often arise during the lifecycle of the employment relationship and we’re here to help every step of the way.
We advise independent contractors on their legal rights, including whether their employment has been correctly classified. Our employment contract lawyers also advise executive employees on breach of contract claims and differences between Modern Awards and employment contract terms.

vector5bag

Reviewing executive employment contracts

Some senior and executive roles may be covered by a Modern Award or Enterprise Agreement. Often, executive employees are provided with a long form employment contract. It is important for executive agreements to be reviewed and negotiated by experienced employment lawyers.

Most senior appointments do not have access to unfair dismissal remedies. This means that the written terms are particularly important. Without a proper review from an expert employment lawyer, you could find yourself agreeing to terms that limit your rights if your employment is terminated.

Why choose Prosper Law?

We offer fixed fee legal advice

Our fixed fee legal services mean that you will know exactly how much you are paying from the start. With Prosper Law, there are no surprises when it comes to legal fees.

You will receive a free employment lawyer consultation

We offer a free, 15-minute consultation. During this call, we will take the time to understand your legal matter. We will then provide you with a scope of work and a fixed-fee quote.

Reviewing executive employment contracts

Some senior and executive roles may be covered by a Modern Award or Enterprise Agreement. Often, executive employees are provided with a long form employment contract. It is important for executive agreements to be reviewed and negotiated by experienced employment lawyers.

Most senior appointments do not have access to unfair dismissal remedies. This means that the written terms are particularly important. Without a proper review from an expert employment lawyer, you could find yourself agreeing to terms that limit your rights if your employment is terminated.

What our clients say

Holly Teague
Holly Teague
2023-09-11
Big Thank you to Krystal and Prosper Law for expediting my employment contract and getting it back to me within 48 hours. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for an employment lawyer.
Larissa Rogers
Larissa Rogers
2023-09-09
I came across Prosper Law while searching for an Employment Lawyer for a recent dispute. I had the pleasure of working with both Krystal and Farrah and I am extremely grateful for their attention to detail and guidance throughout my matter.
Yatin Kulkarni
Yatin Kulkarni
2023-08-29
Absolutely fantastic work by Carlyn Sicat and Farrah Motley by turning around the review of my Contract within 24 hours. Crystal clear recommendations and therefore didn't need any follow up. Highly recommended recommend them if you need an employment lawyer!
Connor Summers
Connor Summers
2023-08-09
Our business needed urgent legal advice for several employment law matters. Prosper Law’s employment contract lawyers were quick to respond, offered a fixed fee price for their legal services and were able to achieve a great result for our business. For any employers looking for a quality employment law firm, we highly recommend the team at Prosper Law.
Jane Gentle
Jane Gentle
2023-08-02
If you are looking to hire a legal counsel on retainer, I highly recommend the Prosper Law legal team. Having engaged with Prosper at work over the past 5 months, I have found them to be great in-house lawyers and who know their stuff when it comes to contract reviews, employment law advice and marketing and consumer law… and they’re reasonably priced
Liam Devonshire
Liam Devonshire
2023-07-25
I needed a business sale lawyer to help me sell my business on short notice. They drafted a business sale agreement for me. Courtney was quick to reply, explained the process to me and was great to deal with. If anyone is after a good M&A lawyer, definitely reach out to Prosper Law.
Bec
Bec
2023-07-12
I needed the advice of a contract lawyer based in Sydney quickly for a difficult client contract. Farrah responded to my query very quickly and efficiently and helped me resolve the liability issue with the client in a very short time. I highly recommend her efficient and thorough service.
Chris Pearson
Chris Pearson
2023-07-04
I contacted Prosper Law because I needed a contract lawyer in Brisbane for an issue with a building contract. Farrah and Micaela are experienced contract lawyers and were polite, professional, and provided my advice quickly. They provided me with a fixed fee quote with no hidden costs for the legal work and spoke to the QBCC on my behalf. Thank you to the Prosper Law team for giving me detailed advice that was good value and very helpful!!! Highly recommended and will be using them in the future for all my legal needs.
CR T
CR T
2023-05-25
Highly recommended. They offered me reliable and useful legal advice free of charge. Thank you once again, Michael, for your service.
Vijesh cj
Vijesh cj
2023-05-22
I approached Farrah with a query regarding my employment contract. She was patient in her dealings and took the time to read the contract fully and understand my side of the story before giving her legal advice. I am happy with my overall experience of working with Farrah.

Book an initial consultation

Contact an Australian Business Lawyer Today.

If you would like to contact an online lawyer, you can complete the contact form, email or phone Prosper Law. If you know you need to speak to an online lawyer, but you’re not sure exactly what your legal problem is – we can help you. Get in touch today and discover why Australian businesses choose Prosper Law’s team of lawyers.

Contact us for a free consultation

How did you hear about us?

Check Out Our Latest Blog Posts

Carlynn is a Senior Paralegal at Prosper Law and is finishing a JD in Law in the Philippines
Employment

The Right to Disconnect from Work

The right to disconnect is now part of Australian law. The right to disconnect will start in 2024 for large employers and in 2025 for small employers. There are some

contract drafting
Contracts

Dangers of using ChatGPT in Contract Drafting

This article discusses the risks of using artificial intelligence, like the Chat GPT model, for making legal contracts. Knowing its limits and the possible effects of using it is important.

Employment Contract Review FAQs

Is an employment contract lawyer expensive?

At Prosper Law, we pride ourselves on offering affordable fixed fee services. Our employment contract services start from as little as $550 plus GST.

Our pricing is upfront and transparent and contributes to our excellent customer ratings.

Does Prosper Law work on both the employer and employee side of matters?

Yes. Working on both sides of the employment fence gives us unique insight into strategies. We work with employers and workers to resolve employment disputes, advice on termination provisions and other advice.

How can a written contract protect my business interests?

It’s important for contracts to be in writing and to be prepared by an employment contract lawyer. A legally binding employment contract is easier to enforce if it is in writing.

Experienced employment lawyers will advise their clients to put the terms of an employment agreement in writing and to avoid relying only on implied terms.

I am an employer wanting legal advice, how does your process work?

First, contact our team by phone or email. We will then discuss your legal needs with you and prepare a fixed fee quote. If you are happy with our quote, we will send you our costs agreement and get started on the work.

Let us know if you have any timing requirements and we will make sure we prioritise your urgent employment matter.

Can employment lawyers write anything in an employment contract?

While we can write anything you like into an employment contract, there are some terms that may go against our advice.

Many employment contracts contain terms that are unenforceable or may even be misleading and deceptive. For example, under the Competition and Consumer Act, it is unlawful for employers to make false representations to candidates.

What is a Common Law employment contract?

Common Law contracts are often used in Australia. They are used as a basis for the employment relationship and can include written and unwritten terms.

A key feature of a Common Law employment contract includes that it can offer flexibility for workers and companies to negotiate contract terms.

While Common Law contracts provide flexibility, they must still comply with the minimum employment standards. These are set out in the Fair Work Act 2009 and include things such as minimum wage, maximum working hours, and leave entitlements.

An employment contract lawyer can provide further advice about the terms of a Common Law contract.

Does an employer or an employee own intellectual property?

Generally, an employer will own the intellectual property that is created during the course of a worker’s employment. An employment contract will often expressly state this.

In addition, the Copyright Act 1988 states that if an employee creates work and that work is under the employer’s direction or control, the employer is the first owner of the copyright. Copyright is, however, only one form of intellectual property.

Employment contract reviews will outline who owns the IP and how it can be used.