4.8

Google Reviews

Need Help? Contact An Australian Business Lawyer Today 1300 003 077
Search
Close this search box.

Employment Contract Review

An employment contract review requires a comprehensive legal review of the employment relationship, Modern Awards and Enterprise Agreements and the terms of the written contract.

At Prosper Law, we understand the importance of employment contracts for employers and employees. That’s why we offer a comprehensive contract review service to ensure that your employment contract is legally sound and beneficial to you.

Our team of experienced employment lawyers negotiate employment contracts across various industries. We understand the complexities of employment law.

Whether you are an employer or an employee, our employment review services will ensure that your contract meets your expectations and protects your rights.

Contact us for a free consultation

Our Employment Agreement Review Services

Contract Icon

Review of employment contract for employees

If you are an employee and have been provided with a contract, it is important that you engage an experienced employment lawyer.
Our team can review your employment contract, confirm if a Modern Award or Enterprise Agreement applies to you and whether your employment agreement complies with the Fair Work Act 2009.
Salary and wages are a major source of income for many Australians. A contract review is an investment as it can ensure that you are aware of your rights and obligations for your biggest source of income.

Icon

Drafting employment contracts

If you are an Australian employer and you need a new employment contract template or just a refresh of your existing employment agreements, we provide a fixed-fee service.

It is important to ensure that all legal requirements are captured when drafting employment agreements. An employment contract lawyer can make sure that an existing employment contract or new agreement is compliant. Employers may wish to understand whether amendments can be made to reflect their business practices.

People Icon

Employment contract legal advice

An employment contract lawyer is needed to provide expert employment law advice. Questions will often arise during the lifecycle of the employment relationship and we’re here to help every step of the way.
We advise independent contractors on their legal rights, including whether their employment has been correctly classified. Our employment contract lawyers also advise executive employees on breach of contract claims and differences between Modern Awards and employment contract terms.

Icon

Reviewing executive employment contracts

Some senior and executive roles may be covered by a Modern Award or Enterprise Agreement. Often, executive employees are provided with a long form employment contract. It is important for executive agreements to be reviewed and negotiated by experienced employment lawyers.

Most senior appointments do not have access to unfair dismissal remedies. This means that the written terms are particularly important. Without a proper review from an expert employment lawyer, you could find yourself agreeing to terms that limit your rights if your employment is terminated.

Why choose Prosper Law?

We offer fixed fee legal advice

Our fixed fee legal services mean that you will know exactly how much you are paying from the start. With Prosper Law, there are no surprises when it comes to legal fees.

You will receive a free employment lawyer consultation

We offer a free, 15-minute consultation. During this call, we will take the time to understand your legal matter. We will then provide you with a scope of work and a fixed-fee quote.

Reviewing executive employment contracts

Some senior and executive roles may be covered by a Modern Award or Enterprise Agreement. Often, executive employees are provided with a long form employment contract. It is important for executive agreements to be reviewed and negotiated by experienced employment lawyers.

Most senior appointments do not have access to unfair dismissal remedies. This means that the written terms are particularly important. Without a proper review from an expert employment lawyer, you could find yourself agreeing to terms that limit your rights if your employment is terminated.

What our clients say

Deborah Lawrie
Deborah Lawrie
2024-05-15
Brooke Ferris at Prosper Law has helped me navigate copy write issues and a Life Rights agreement. Brooke is thorough, fast, efficient and knowledgable and has a no fuss down to earth approach. I am very grateful for her help.
CENDRÉ AUSTRALIA
CENDRÉ AUSTRALIA
2024-04-24
Prosper Law were so easy and quick to communicate with. Employment Lawyer, Krystal, was incredibly helpful. We were on a tight schedule and she made it happen quickly and efficiently, meanwhile answering any and all our questions we had regarding the contract. Highly recommend!!
Miguel Diaz
Miguel Diaz
2024-03-14
Parkinson’s Queensland engaged Prosper Law to assist with a contract review. Their contract lawyer was fast, approachable and provided excellent customer service. Highly recommend Prosper Law if you are looking for a well-rounded contract lawyer or need help with contract reviews.
Elizabeth Roughan
Elizabeth Roughan
2024-01-31
First timer to this online service but loved it. Quick, efficient and online so no dressing up to go into the city! Have already referred a business partner. Will continue to get advise on contracts from them moving forward.
Merzi Mody
Merzi Mody
2023-11-24
Unfortunately (despite all the positive reviews) our experience with Prosper was extremely disappointing and I have fed this back to the firm. We had one of our lead-in consults with an Associate Lawyer at Prosper on Tue 21.11.23 (15mins) and in LESS THAN 2 days we accepted Prosper's contract/terms, only to be told "we do not have the capacity to take on this matter". We were instead told, "you can use the “Find A Solicitor” function on the Queensland Law Society website to find a lawyer”. During this period there had been no change to the content/scenario regarding the matter whatsoever. It made the whole interaction with Prosper frustrating and unrewarding for us personally.
Holly Teague
Holly Teague
2023-09-11
Big Thank you to Krystal and Prosper Law for expediting my employment contract and getting it back to me within 48 hours. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for an employment lawyer.
Larissa Rogers
Larissa Rogers
2023-09-09
I came across Prosper Law while searching for an Employment Lawyer for a recent dispute. I had the pleasure of working with both Krystal and Farrah and I am extremely grateful for their attention to detail and guidance throughout my matter.
Yatin Kulkarni
Yatin Kulkarni
2023-08-29
Absolutely fantastic work by Carlyn Sicat and Farrah Motley by turning around the review of my Contract within 24 hours. Crystal clear recommendations and therefore didn't need any follow up. Highly recommended recommend them if you need an employment lawyer!
Connor Summers
Connor Summers
2023-08-09
Our business needed urgent legal advice for several employment law matters. Prosper Law’s employment contract lawyers were quick to respond, offered a fixed fee price for their legal services and were able to achieve a great result for our business. For any employers looking for a quality employment law firm, we highly recommend the team at Prosper Law.
Jane Gentle
Jane Gentle
2023-08-02
If you are looking to hire a legal counsel on retainer, I highly recommend the Prosper Law legal team. Having engaged with Prosper at work over the past 5 months, I have found them to be great in-house lawyers and who know their stuff when it comes to contract reviews, employment law advice and marketing and consumer law… and they’re reasonably priced

Book an initial consultation

Contact an Australian Business Lawyer Today.

If you would like to contact an online lawyer, you can complete the contact form, email or phone Prosper Law. If you know you need to speak to an online lawyer, but you’re not sure exactly what your legal problem is – we can help you. Get in touch today and discover why Australian businesses choose Prosper Law’s team of lawyers.

Contact us for a free consultation

How did you hear about us?

Check Out Our Latest Blog Posts

debt recovery lawyer
Labour hire licensing

Labour Hire Licences in Australia

Several Australian States require labour hire licences, including Queensland, Victoria and South Australia. Australia’s labour hire industry is important for businesses to have the flexibility and workers they need to

annualised salaries
Debt Recovery

Australian Guide to Debt Recovery

Your business finished work for a client and provided goods or services, but they haven’t paid yet or payment is late. With the payment due date passed, what can you

Australian Entertainment Law
Entertainment

Introduction to Australian Entertainment Law

Entertainment law is a wide range of laws that apply to various aspects of the entertainment industry. Several laws, sometimes collectively referred to as media law, are relevant. Entertainment law

Employment Contract Review FAQs

Is an employment contract lawyer expensive?

At Prosper Law, we pride ourselves on offering affordable fixed fee services. Our employment contract services start from as little as $550 plus GST.

Our pricing is upfront and transparent and contributes to our excellent customer ratings.

Does Prosper Law work on both the employer and employee side of matters?

Yes. Working on both sides of the employment fence gives us unique insight into strategies. We work with employers and workers to resolve employment disputes, advice on termination provisions and other advice.

How can a written contract protect my business interests?

It’s important for contracts to be in writing and to be prepared by an employment contract lawyer. A legally binding employment contract is easier to enforce if it is in writing.

Experienced employment lawyers will advise their clients to put the terms of an employment agreement in writing and to avoid relying only on implied terms.

I am an employer wanting legal advice, how does your process work?

First, contact our team by phone or email. We will then discuss your legal needs with you and prepare a fixed fee quote. If you are happy with our quote, we will send you our costs agreement and get started on the work.

Let us know if you have any timing requirements and we will make sure we prioritise your urgent employment matter.

Can employment lawyers write anything in an employment contract?

While we can write anything you like into an employment contract, there are some terms that may go against our advice.

Many employment contracts contain terms that are unenforceable or may even be misleading and deceptive. For example, under the Competition and Consumer Act, it is unlawful for employers to make false representations to candidates.

What is a Common Law employment contract?

Common Law contracts are often used in Australia. They are used as a basis for the employment relationship and can include written and unwritten terms.

A key feature of a Common Law employment contract includes that it can offer flexibility for workers and companies to negotiate contract terms.

While Common Law contracts provide flexibility, they must still comply with the minimum employment standards. These are set out in the Fair Work Act 2009 and include things such as minimum wage, maximum working hours, and leave entitlements.

An employment contract lawyer can provide further advice about the terms of a Common Law contract.

Does an employer or an employee own intellectual property?

Generally, an employer will own the intellectual property that is created during the course of a worker’s employment. An employment contract will often expressly state this.

In addition, the Copyright Act 1988 states that if an employee creates work and that work is under the employer’s direction or control, the employer is the first owner of the copyright. Copyright is, however, only one form of intellectual property.

Employment contract reviews will outline who owns the IP and how it can be used.